Jambands.ca

keyboards

mikey d

I am a keyboardist. A few years ago I told other musicians my age this and they laughed. I think most of them pictured me hunched over a radio-shack model (though sadly that is what my broke-ass played for some time)playing around with the cheesy rythms and brass-synth sounds. I tried playing in some punk bands that realy didn't work out, and then I almost quit playing altogether.

Then I heard the Doors.

I had a sudden change of heart and went and started playing my keyboard again with a newfound passion. I instantly adopted a very Manzarek-esque style.

Then I heard Kind of Blue.

Jazz was now my thing. I brought the album to my teacher and said 'teach me this'. I started learning my blues scales, my jazz theory, etc. and I joined a band with a few friends and we started playing some realy dumbed-down jazz, along with some Pixies and REM. The drummer of this band introduced me to some of his friends and that in turn introduced me to improvisational jamming.

I didn't even know such an incredible world of music existed. We'd get together on a friday night, smoke some herb and just play all night. I was introduced to Phish, SCI, and many other great jambands.I still retained my Manzarek influenced sound, but dabbled with my slight knowledge of jazz as well. Then the big one hit.

I heard John Medeski.

I went to a jam with a few older musicians and one of them told me about this band I'd dig. They threw on Combustication and my jaw hit the floor. I had a new God. I was shown an entire new world of keyboards. The hammond organ was my new infatuation. Since then, I have been continuosly inspired by his playing, and seeing him live was a crown moment of my young life.

The jamband world is a world where keyboardists belong. Organs and rhodes and moogs and wurlitzers alike are all an essential part of this world, and I couldn't be happier.