Jambands.ca

State of our Scene- opinions??

shainhouse

I'm just wondering how people feel about the state of our scene? The summer has been slow attendance wise in most clubs around Toronto, but I'm hoping that with some bigger names and exciting shows, it will pick up in the fall.

How do you feel the growth of our scene has been in the past little while? I surely hope it gets better in the fall, or putting on high priced shows is going to become something of the past.

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I think the jam scene is certainly on a slow decline. It's never had anything outside a large cult-like following anyway. I just think that a lot of the music and bands in our scene are beginning to sound similar - it's not unlike what's going on in mainstream rock, with hundreds of similar sounding nouveau-metal and pop-punk rock bands. Note: this is only a theoretical comparison. I hate generic metal/pop-punk.

I'm only getting started, but I'll have to wait until Wednesday when I'm back at work to finish my thoughts. One last note: there is an exciting return to real rock & roll creeping back into mainstream music. If jam bands and the scene is on a decline, then one ray of hope lies in the fact that real rock is creeping, ever so slowly, back into our musical consciousnesses. Go " White Stripes " go.

By-the-by, nero is not to be included in reference to my above comments because they are doing stuff now that no other band dares to do. Good for you guys.

i don't think the scene is that bad to me it would be bad if there were no bands but are shit loads of new bands. shain man the cozo is such a tuff sell, most wont go there. its not the best place in the world but its all we have in t.o. so im there to support the the cozo at least once a week, i will be spending more time there in august/september lots of shows that i cann't wait to see.