Jump to content
Jambands.ca

Jammin' Canadian Bands - A Comprehensive List


keither
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hey everyone.

Here's what I've been able to come up with so far.

I'm still wondering about filling in any bands that may have been missed... as well as trying to fill in all the home cities (plus get the all the bands in their proper city/province's section). I also would like to document each bands official website (if they have one).

Please have a look and see if there's anything more you can add before I start doing the next couple of steps and adding some band research.

Thank you for yor help folks. This should give everyone a good idea about where to look for good Canadian tunes.

Peace.

Keither

Jammin’ Canadian Bands – A Comprehensive List

BC

Adios – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Andy Warren Group – Vancouver, BC – www.andywarrenmusic.com

Beluga – Vancouver, BC – www.belugamusic.com

Big Bottom – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Brian Fowler Endosolo – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Brickhouse – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Copastatic – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Crowd Control Collective – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Delivery Bros. – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Doppler (D)efect – Vancouver, BC – forgot web address/couldn’t find it

Dubfreque – Vancouver, BC – www.dubfreque.net

Fidgital – Vancouver, BC – www.fidgital.com

Freeflow – Vancouver, BC – www.freeflow.ca

Funkshun – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Funktopus – Vancouver, BC – www.mindgallery.com/funktopus

Fuse – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Grames Brothers Band – Vancouver, BC – www.gramesbrothers.com

Greenlaw Ave. – Victoria, BC – www.greenlawave.com

Inject – Vancouver, BC – www.inject.org

Kaejema – Vancouver, BC – www.kaejema.com

Kynkayd – Vancouver, BC – www.kynkayd.com

MetroGnomes – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Mynkxoo – Vancouver, BC – www.groups.msn.com/mynkxoo

Namedropper – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Nola Park – Victoria, BC – no website found

Rabnett 5 – Vancouver, BC – www.rab5.com

Rattlesnake Jones – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Remedy X – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Samsara – Vernon, BC – no website found

Santa Lucia – Vancouver, BC – www.santaluciamusic.com

Sekoya – Vancouver, BC – www.sekoya.ca

Slammin Jack – Vancouver, BC – www.slamminjack.com

Slow Nerve Action – Vancouver, BC – www.slownerveaction.com

Solid Earth – Whistler, BC – no website found

Sonicjoy – Vancouver, BC – www.sonicjoy.ca

Space Time Continuum – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Springer & Ducommun – Vancouver, BC – www.springerandducommun.com

Stem – Vancouver, BC – www.stemband.org

Stephen Franke & Noises from the Toolshed – Victoria, BC – www.stephenfranke.ca

Take it Home – Victoria, BC – no website found

Themasses – Vancouver, BC – www.themasses.ca

Threat from Outer Space – Vancouver, BC – www.threatfromouterspace.com

Todd Taylor’s New Vehicle – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Transit – Vancouver, BC – www.whorl.ca/transit

Zigabooty – Vancouver, BC – no website found

Alberta

Recipe from a Small Planet – Calgary, AB – www.recipemusic.com

Blue Quarter – Canmore, AB – www.bluequarter.com

Grassroots Deviation – Edmonton, AB – no website found

Knee Deep in Grass - Edmonton, AB - www.kneedeepingrass.com

McGowan Family Band – Edmonton, AB

Saskatchewan

Manitoba

VibeRiders – Winnipeg, MB – www.viberiders.com

The Hummers – Winnipeg, MB – www.thehummers.ca

Ontario

Fat Cats – www.fat-cats.com

Burt Neilson Band – Thunder Bay, ON – www.burtneilson.com

Nero – www.neroland.com

The New Deal – www.thenewdeal.com

Six Foot Groove – www.6ftgroove.com

Electric Meat - www.geocities.com/electricmeat2003/index.html

Cavern – Toronto, ON – www.cavernmusic.com

Diesel Dog – www.dieseldog.ca

Friends of Hefner – no website found

Bullmoose – www.bullmoose.ca

Dr. Huxtable – Ottawa, ON - www.drhuxtable.com

Guesthouse – no website found

Doug Feaver – www.dougfeaver.ca

Pocket Dwellers – www.pocketdwellers.com

Slackers – no website found

Jomomma – Brantford, ON – www.jomomma.ca

Chillin Room – www.chillinroom.com

Melonworks – www.melonworks.com

Rose Garland – www.rosegarland.ca

The New Shady Groove – www.shadymusic.ca

GruvAsylum - www.brownman.com/gruvasylum/

Moses Mayes – www.mosesmayes.com

Moyo Combo – www.moyocombo.com

Crazy Strings – no website found

Harvard Mouse – no website found

Erin Smith Band – www.erinsmithband.com

No Buds for Bob – no website found

Special Ed & the Musically Challenged – www.specialedmusic.org

Cool Blue Method – no website found

Devine Heist – no website found

Passenger – no website found

Days of You– no website found

Blue Grassy High– no website found

Mr. Something Something – www.mrsomethingsomething.com

Contact – no website found

Uncle Seth – www.musicface.com

Planet Earth – www.planetearthfunk.com

Caution Jam – www.cautionjam.com

Quebec

Hiway Freeker – Montreal, QC – www.hiwayfreeker.com

Tala – Montreal, QC – www.tala.ca

Kid Koala & Bullfrog – www.kidkoala.com

New Brunswick

Grand Theft Bus – Fredricton, NB – www.grandtheftbus.com

Catherwood – Fredericton, NB - www.catherwood.ca

All of Green – Fredericton, NB – no website found

Lester Corp – Fredericton, NB – no website found

Naked Days – Fredricton, NB – www.nakeddays.net

The Intergalactic Squid – Moncton, NB – no website found

Chris Colepaugh & the Cosmic Crew – Moncton, NB – www.colepaugh.com

Ted Neeley Beard – Moncton, NB - http://tedneeleybeard.tripod.com/

Fat Jebus – NB – www.fatjebus.com

Nova Scotia

Jimmy Swift Band – Halifax, NS – www.thejimmyswiftband.com

Barriomatic Trust – NS – www.barriomatictrust.com

Slowcoaster – Cape Breton, NS - www.houseofrock.ca/sloco.php

High Plains Drifter – NS – www.highplainsdrifter.ca

Prince Edward Island

Newfoundland

When I'm done gathering information I'll be trying to make this a full-on booklet of Canadian "jammin' band" contacts... with websites, e-mails?, addresses?... whatever people think will be needed to get these acts playing all over the country.

Thanks again.

Keep Givin'er!

Peace. ::

Keither ::

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hey C-Towns.

I got your e-mail.

I've been pretty busy doing this list, along with working on the 3 shows I have lined up for May in Vancouver. Add to that the time I've been spending trying to buy our own venue, and working a regular job to stay afloat... and it's been a pretty hectic couple of weeks.

I'll try reading it again and getting back to you later on today.

Peace.

Keither

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Also... all the bands I don't have a 'home base' for are sitting in the Ontario section until they are either confirmed (with the Ontario city they're from) or someone has informed me that they are from ________.

Could some of you Ontario folk confirm a bunch of those bands and let me know where their home bases are?

Thanks.

Keither

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ontario

Fat Cats – www.fat-cats.com HAMILTON

Burt Neilson Band – Thunder Bay, ON – www.burtneilson.com

Nero – www.neroland.com OTTAWA

The New Deal – www.thenewdeal.com TORONTO

Six Foot Groove – www.6ftgroove.com HAMILTON

Electric Meat - www.geocities.com/electricmeat2003/index.html

Cavern – Toronto, ON – www.cavernmusic.com

Diesel Dog – www.dieseldog.ca HAMILTON/ WATERLOO?

Friends of Hefner – no website found BRANTFORD

Bullmoose – www.bullmoose.ca

Dr. Huxtable – Ottawa, ON - www.drhuxtable.com

Guesthouse – no website found

Doug Feaver – www.dougfeaver.ca

Pocket Dwellers – www.pocketdwellers.com TORONTO

Slackers – no website found

Jomomma – Brantford, ON – www.jomomma.ca

Chillin Room – www.chillinroom.com

Melonworks – www.melonworks.com

Rose Garland – www.rosegarland.ca ST CATHARINES

The New Shady Groove – www.shadymusic.ca

GruvAsylum - www.brownman.com/gruvasylum/

Moses Mayes – www.mosesmayes.com

Moyo Combo – www.moyocombo.com

Crazy Strings – no website found

Harvard Mouse – no website found

Erin Smith Band – www.erinsmithband.com

No Buds for Bob – no website found

Special Ed & the Musically Challenged – www.specialedmusic.org TORONTO

Cool Blue Method – no website found

Devine Heist (Divine Heist) – no website found These guys are actually from Hampton, NB (younger up and comers- watch out!)

Passenger – no website found

Days of You– no website found OTTAWA?

Blue Grassy High– no website found

Mr. Something Something – www.mrsomethingsomething.com

Contact – no website found

Uncle Seth – www.musicface.com TORONTO

Planet Earth – www.planetearthfunk.com

Caution Jam – www.cautionjam.com HAMILTON/ TORONTO?

There you have at least some of them...........

Sean

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks Sean... I'll make the adjustments.

I've also been thinking that putting together a master list of Jam-style promoters and their contacts would be a big help in getting these bands gigging around the country. Also allowing Western bands to piggyback with more popular/well-known Eastern acts when we tour out there and vice-versa. It seems as though some of the turnouts for touring acts aren't as good as they could be. Plus... having a local promoter handling your shows is sure to help draw better.

Here's the promoters I know of right now... anyone to add?

BC

Discover/Black Sheep Entertainment - Keith Duggan, Bruce Macaulay, Calm Davidson - keither7@telus.net

Hipstar Productions - www.hipstarproductions.com - Craig Glen, Christopher Berry - craig@hipstarproductions.com

Upstream Entertainment - www.upstreamentertainment.com - Derek Arrowsmith, Yani Christie - deke@upstreamentertainment.com

XZYZX Productions - www.xzyzx.com

Ontario

Hamilton, ON - Shainhouse Booking

Ottawa, ON - Uncle Funguy

Nova Scotia

Halifax, NS - Below Me Productions - Craig ?

Anyone able to fill in some balnks or add anyone else?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ontario

Fat Cats – www.fat-cats.com HAMILTON

Burt Neilson Band – Thunder Bay, ON – www.burtneilson.com

Nero – www.neroland.com OTTAWA

The New Deal – www.thenewdeal.com TORONTO

Six Foot Groove – www.6ftgroove.com Kitchener/Waterloo??

Electric Meat - www.geocities.com/electricmeat2003/index.html - Toronto

Cavern – Toronto, ON – www.cavernmusic.com

Diesel Dog – www.dieseldog.ca - Simcoe/Port Dover

Friends of Hefner – no website found Brantford

Bullmoose – www.bullmoose.ca Peterbourgh

Dr. Huxtable – Ottawa, ON - www.drhuxtable.com

Guesthouse – no website found -Same place as Friends of hefner- Brantford

Doug Feaver – www.dougfeaver.ca Hamiltom/StoneyCreek

Pocket Dwellers – www.pocketdwellers.com TORONTO

Slackers – no website found

Jomomma – Brantford, ON – www.jomomma.ca

Chillin Room – www.chillinroom.com

Melonworks – www.melonworks.com

Rose Garland – www.rosegarland.ca ST CATHARINES

The New Shady Groove – www.shadymusic.ca

GruvAsylum - www.brownman.com/gruvasylum/

Moses Mayes – www.mosesmayes.com

Moyo Combo – www.moyocombo.com

Crazy Strings – no website found Toronto

Harvard Mouse – no website found Kitchener

Erin Smith Band – www.erinsmithband.com

No Buds for Bob – no website found

Special Ed & the Musically Challenged – www.specialedmusic.org TORONTO

Cool Blue Method – no website found

Devine Heist (Divine Heist) – no website found These guys are actually from Hampton, NB (younger up and comers- watch out!)

Passenger – no website found

Days of You– no website found OTTAWA?

Blue Grassy High– no website found

Mr. Something Something – www.mrsomethingsomething.com

Contact – no website found

Uncle Seth – www.musicface.com TORONTO

Planet Earth – www.planetearthfunk.com

Caution Jam – www.cautionjam.com TORONTO

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here's some more info for ya:

You can contact me at shain@shainhousebooking.com or www.shainhousebooking.com

Shane and U.F. can be reached at shane@jamhub.ca

Brian Carson and Kick It Down Promotions is also a promoter located in Hamilton. www.kickitdown.ca

Ottawa Jams in Ottawa. Brad Beamish ottawajams@hotmail.com

Chris Morris runs Rock Crew in Kingston www.rockcrew.ca

Mark Finkelstein runs GMP Productions in Toronto, which did PHIX and is doing SETH YACOVONE/Sixfootgroove. He can be reached at hallomarky@hotmail.com

More info:

Contact www.contacttheband.ca

Six Foot Groove are from Kitchener/Waterloo

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Slackers www.theslackers.com

Passenger- www.curveballrecords.com

Days of You www.daysofyou.com

A Few More Bands:

Platypi- Toronto, ON www.platypifunk.com

The Riderless- London, ON www.theriderless.com

Chris Chambers Band- Hamilton, ON www.chris-chambers.com

Grand Poo Bah- London, ON www.grandpoobah.com

Samsara- Waterloo www.samsara.cd

Uncle Lefty- Toronto www.unclelefty.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ontario

Fat Cats – www.fat-cats.com HAMILTON

Burt Neilson Band – Thunder Bay, ON – www.burtneilson.com

Nero – www.neroland.com OTTAWA

The New Deal – www.thenewdeal.com TORONTO

Six Foot Groove – www.6ftgroove.com Kitchener/Waterloo

Electric Meat - www.geocities.com/electricmeat2003/index.html- Toronto

Cavern – Toronto, ON – www.cavernmusic.com

Diesel Dog – www.dieseldog.ca Brantford

Friends of Hefner – no website found BRANTFORD

Bullmoose – www.bullmoose.ca Westport, ON

Dr. Huxtable – Ottawa, ON - www.drhuxtable.com

Guesthouse – no website found -Brantford

Doug Feaver – www.dougfeaver.ca- Hamilton

Pocket Dwellers – www.pocketdwellers.com TORONTO

Slackers – no website found

Jomomma – Brantford, ON – www.jomomma.ca

Chillin Room – www.chillinroom.com

Melonworks – www.melonworks.com -St John, NB

Rose Garland – www.rosegarland.ca ST CATHARINES

The New Shady Groove – www.shadymusic.ca -Oshawa

GruvAsylum - www.brownman.com/gruvasylum/ -Toronto

Moses Mayes – www.mosesmayes.com -Winnipeg

Moyo Combo – www.moyocombo.com

Crazy Strings – no website found -Toronto

Harvard Mouse – no website found -Kitchener

Erin Smith Band – www.erinsmithband.com -Toronto

No Buds for Bob – no website found

Special Ed & the Musically Challenged – www.specialedmusic.org TORONTO

Cool Blue Method – no website found

Devine Heist (Divine Heist) – no website found These guys are actually from Hampton, NB (younger up and comers- watch out!)

Passenger – no website found -Mississauga

Days of You– no website found Toronto

Blue Grassy High– no website found Ottawa

Mr. Something Something – www.mrsomethingsomething.com- Toronto

Contact – no website found -Toronto

Uncle Seth – www.musicface.com TORONTO

Planet Earth – www.planetearthfunk.com

Caution Jam – www.cautionjam.com TORONTO

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Right on Shain.

I actually spoke with a publisher tonight that's interested in my turning this into a full-on book... YEEHA!!! I've spoken with Dean Budnick in the past about the development of the Canadian scene and he wished me the best. Thanks for filling in some blanks and lending some direction. I'll once again add to the master list and be in touch brother.

Cheers.

KD

ps. go Ticats! ::

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...