Jambands.ca

canada/china/tibet

meggo

an issue that has interested me since i started learning about the dalai lama in high school... got involved with 'free tibet' stuff for awhile when i was in university... anyway still hoping for change for the tibetan people!

and i have a question - i'm sure anyone who knows something about politics can answer this, and at the risk of sounding like a dumbass -

when ole paul M or any other of the PMs of Canada's past have to make a decision like this, i.e. whether or not to broach a topic like specific human rights issues with a foreign leader... how do they make that decision? do they go sit in their backyard with a tea and ponder? do they have to have a million meetings with all kinds of advisors? do they flip a coin? just curious.

here's the article:

PM urged to press China on human rights

By ALLISON DUNFIELD

Globe and Mail Update

POSTED AT 3:01 PM EST Thursday, Jan 13, 2005

Prime Minister Paul Martin was strongly urged Thursday by activist groups to make human rights, not trade, his top priority during his visit to China later this month.

Mr. Martin will embark on a major trip to Asia on Saturday that will not only include visits to India, China and Japan but also tsunami-ravaged regions in Sri Lanka and Thailand.

During what will be his first visit to China as Prime Minister, Mr. Martin will meet with Premier Wen Jiabao and President Hu Jintao. The Prime Minister's Office has said his discussions in China are expected to focus on trade and commercial relationship developments, along with environmental topics and human rights.

Foreign Affairs officials said at a briefing on the Prime Minister's trip this week that Canada would, more specifically, push for respect of the rule of law and respect for freedom of religion.