Jambands.ca

Who's got my heady rat solution?

TheGoodRev

Ok let me preface this with the disclaimer that my housemates and I don't live in squalor. We're young, I'm a student and the other 3 are graduated, but our house isn't a sty. We moved in in September and saw a mouse in November. We laid out traps but never caught anything, and bought an outdoor garbage can to use in the kitchen instead of the dinky indoor one (so the mice couldn't get into it). Now we usually put the lid on the garbage bin but we forget a lot, no big deal though right? Well yesterday morning my housemate Rocky goes down to eat breakfast, and a half-eaten cob of corn that was in the garbage the night before is now wedged halfway underneath the fridge. fu©k. There ain't no mice I know that could pull that off. Maybe a well-trained army of super intelligent mice or something. Anyway so, being the nerds that we are, we set up the video camera on a tripod overnight in the kitchen. Had to keep the light on to get a good shot, but we were pretty sure it was a rat. We didn't empty the garbage so as to entice it, and left it some cereal. Here's a screenshot of what we got:

YouDirtyRat.jpg

The correct term, I believe, is nnnngooooo. That thing is a good 9 inches long with a tail the same size. fu©king, fu©king sick.

So basically we don't know if it lives in the house or if it comes in a hole. There may very well be many holes, it's an old house with very poor insulation. We're looking to get rid of this thing quick, anybody have any experience with this sort of thing? We've read that with wharferin (sp? the poison) there is no guarantee that they'll go away without rotting and smelling in the walls. Any other suggestions?