Jambands.ca

Dal with Coconut

Dr_Evil_Mouse

A staple here in the Calamity Mouse House. Dead easy, and startlingly nutricious. Great for those sketchy mornings after. Well served with rice (esp. basmati).

- Dal with Coconut -

Prep. time: approx. 30 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

* 2 cups red lentils

* 5 cups water

* oil

* 1-2 large onions, chopped

* 1 tsp. turmeric

* 2 tsp. ginger

* 2 tsp. garlic

* 2 tbsp. butter/margarine

* 6 tbsp. dried coconut

(quantities can be easily doubled/tripled/etc. - freezes well)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Wash lentils, and boil in water; remove all the froth that rises to the surface.

2. In a separate pan, fry onions, ginger, and garlic; add turmeric.

3. When lentils have broken down, add fried onions etc.; add salt to taste.

4. In pan, melt butter and stir in coconut; remove when just golden, and add to dal.

ok i have no experience with lentils, but i do like italian wedding soup and that has lentils...and i like coconut too...so i'ma try this next week. but i have some questions...

i'm assuming that lentils come dry.....would all that water get absorbed? cause i don't see a step that says "strain lentils'

what does broken down mean? when they've turned to mush? when they're soft? how long does that take?

and i'm assuming that dal is the now broken down lentils + seasonings right?

wow...i always thought i knew how to cook hehe