Jambands.ca

Lamb Chops

AD

I bought some garlic and rosemary lamb loin chops tonight and i need your help to cook them, as i have never done this before and am not nearly as knowledgeable as some of you with techniques, ingredients etc... there are 6 chops, totalling about 0.4 kg.

i don't have the hugest or most equipped kitchen, so that is a factor as well. i have an oven and a stovetop, skillets, glass pans, wok, frying pans, etc... but nothing fancy.

so, can anyone help this beginner make some delicious lamb?

edit - no rush, would ideally like to cook these up for dinner friday

Yup, I agree with Jay and Dinghy. For chops, just a pan sear on a relatively high heat. Kepp it medium rare though.

If you were asking about rack of lamb, I'd recommend a pan sear to start and finishing them in the oven. Again to medium rare. Lamb is ruined at medium and well done.

Enjoy the lamb. It's one of my favorites!

pan sear - i will have to look that up, unless anyone wants to give some more guidance on how i accomplish this.......... thanks for all the suggestions so far. i love lamb, just have to get to the point where i can cook it myself!

AD its easy.

Make your pan hot on medium high heat. Season the Chops with Salt and Pepper. Use very little oil, just enough to create a buffer in the pan. Place the chops in the pan. After 1 1/2 minutes turn them over and repeat. When you are done use about a half glass of red wine to de-glaze the pan. Reduce the wine for a minute or 2 and then remove from the heat and whisk in about 2 teaspoons of cold butter** to make a nice sauce.

If you have a cast iron skillet use that.

** this is called montee au beurre. Its a french technique for finishing a sauce made in a pan and leaves it with a velvety smooth texture. make sure the butter is cold though!

Edited by Guest

One minor adjustment to M.O.B.E's recipe...after you sear the chops remove them from the pan before proceeding with the sauce as described.