Jambands.ca

Cell Phone Ban in Quebec.

headymamamyrna

i never needed to talk on the phone while I was driving. I can't believe that they had to ban that.

You've also had your cell phone for all of three weeks. ;)

How many freaking times do we have to yell at people who are on their cell phones while running stop signs, making ridiculous turns, sitting still at green lights and on and on?

This ban is a good thing (until I need to use my cell that is) ;)

I work as a sales rep and drive around all day. If they put a ban on cell phones and driving in Ontario, it would seriously mess with my work day.

On the other hand I see a lot of bad drivers on the road who are talking on their phones instead of concentrating on driving. I think blue-tooth is a good compromise- at least you have both hands free to drive.

I work as a sales rep and drive around all day. If they put a ban on cell phones and driving in Ontario, it would seriously mess with my work day.

I would imagine that a Bluetooth ear piece would solve that problem. I know that in other jurisdictions, you can be talking on the phone so long as you're not holding it.

What about holding a cheesburger, or a donut while you're driving?

What about smoking a cigarette, or drinking coffee?

These are all distractions that involve taking your hand(s) off the wheel. I'm sure that one could argue equally as much against those too.

I see it every day. People on their cell phones (or keying messages on their CrackBerries) while driving and are oblivious to their surroundings and make ridiculous maneuvers on the road.

What about holding a cheesburger, or a donut while you're driving?

Oh, that's fine, provided you're not having a conversation with the cheeseburger or donut. If you are, you have far more serious problems than just being inattentive while behind the wheel.

Aloha,

Brad

Funny response regarding the California law similar to Quebec's: