Jump to content
Jambands.ca

Guthrie Family Rides Again- 10.28.09 Ottawa


Northern Wish
 Share

Recommended Posts

ARLO AND KIN SET OUT ON MASSIVE TOUR INTO 2010

"The Guthries are the first family of American folk. They practice what Woody preached." -Vanity Fair

"[Woody] Guthrie music is alive and well, and that the legacy is in good hands." -Robert Price, New Jersey Herald

This month, folk music icon Arlo Guthrie will begin his trek across North America with three generations of Guthries for "Guthrie Family Rides Again."

The concerts on the upcoming "Guthrie Family Rides Again" tour will feature Arlo's standards as well as a selection of unpublished Woody Guthrie lyrics recently put to music by such distinguished artists as Billy Bragg, Wilco, Eliza Gilkyson, Janis Ian, Wenzel, The Klezmatics, and others. With many notable musicians from around the world contributing to keep the work of Woody Guthrie alive and well, the Guthrie Family will pay tribute to these artists as they perform some of the newly composed tunes.

"Guthrie Family Rides Again" spotlights three generations of Guthries including Arlo's son Abe, who has contributed keyboards and backing vocals to his father's live shows since the '80s. His daughters Cathy, Annie and Sarah Lee Guthrie, all of who have their own bustling music careers, will support by singing songs and accompanying on acoustic guitars. Sarah Lee's musical partner and husband Johnny Irion will lead songs and lend his stalwart guitar playing. The youngest generation of Guthrie kids will join in the fun on select songs.

Guthrie Family Rides Again Tour Dates

Friday, October 23, 2009: Glen Ellyn, IL

Saturday, October 24, 2009: Waukegan, IL

Tuesday, October 27, 2009: Oakville, Ontario,

Wednesday, October 28, 2009: Dominion Chalmers United Church in Ottawa, Canada

Thursday, October 29, 2009: Montreal, Canada

Sunday, November 1, 2009: Homer, NY

Friday, November 13, 2009: Albany, NY

Sunday, November 15, 2009: Harrisburg, PA

Tuesday, November 17, 2009: State College, PA

Thursday, November 19, 2009: Burlington, VT

Friday, November 20, 2009: Portland, ME

Saturday, November 21, 2009: Orono, ME

Saturday, November 28, 2009: New York, NY

Sunday, November 29, 2009: Newark, NJ

Friday, February 19, 2010: Alexandria, VA

Saturday, February 20, 2010: Princeton, NJ

Sunday, February 21, 2010: Patchogue, NY

Tuesday, February 23, 2010: Wilmington, DE

Thursday, February 25, 2010: The American Theatre

Friday, February 26, 2010: The American Theatre

Saturday, February 27, 2010: Charlottesville, VA

Monday, March 1, 2010: Newberry, SC

Wednesday, March 3, 2010: Asheville, NC

Thursday, March 4, 2010: Asheville, NC

Friday, March 5, 2010: Atlanta, GA

Monday, March 15, 2010: Stuart, FL

Saturday, March 20, 2010: Bartlett, TN

Tuesday, March 23, 2010: MHouston, TX

Friday, March 26, 2010: St. Louis, MO

Saturday, March 27, 2010: Overland Park, KS

Wednesday, March 31, 2010: Austin, TX

Saturday, April 3, 2010: Albuquerque, NM

Thursday, April 8, 2010: Wickenburg, AZ

Friday, April 9, 2010: Tucson, AZ

Saturday, April 10, 2010: Mesa, AZ

Friday, April 16, 2010: Los Angeles, CA

Saturday, April 17, 2010: Irvine, CA

Tuesday, April 20, 2010: Grande, CA

Wednesday, April 21, 2010: Sacramento, CA

Thursday, April 22, 2010: Sacramento, CA

Friday, April 23, 2010: Berkeley, CA

Saturday, April 24, 2010: Modesto, CA

Thursday, April 29, 2010: Corvallis, OR

Saturday, May 1, 2010: Kent, WA

Sunday, May 2, 2010: Bellingham, WA

*Additional dates TBA*

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...