Jambands.ca

I fuÇking hate OSAP

shainhouse

yes, that's right. I am now a student again, doing my PhD. I filled out the form to prove it and mailed it to them in SEPT. They mailed it back to me with a new form, saying they had updated it and wished me to re-do it for their records. Fine. So I did so and sent it back to them. And, during that time, they charged me $100 in interest. Even though I am in school and they obviously has proof.

FUCKING UNETHICAL...

I had all my student loans recalled while I was still going to school, they made a mistake and thought for some reason I wasn't in school. I didn't take out a student loan one year, even though I was still in school. It took me years of living with bad credit before I got them paid off. basterds.

When I got my first mortgage years ago, the credit check showed that I had a "little blip" with OSAP. Thankfully the bank ignored it. They said they knew what OSAP was like. Every month I would get a letter saying that I was on interest relief, then one dated the next day saying my payment was overdue. Nobody can win with them.

as far as i know they don't do grants but will lend money. However, the lending and collecting is all done through regular banks now and they are much less 'forgiving' and will start many off with horrible credit ratings :\

I remember that loan ownership changed while I was in college on an OSAP loan in 95. Boy, did I ever get harassed when I didn't understand or live up to the terms. The debt got sold to a collection agency without any warning and some dude that sounded like one of the sopranos was threatening to show up at my house and take all of my belongings (of which I had none).

At that time you could file for bankruptcy and wipe the loan, but that changed in 96 or so with a new law that killed that option. Apparently that was a very popular tactic to get free schooling.

that's how i remember how things worked then.