Jambands.ca

Swell Season.

FunkyBeats

After careful consideration I have to say that even through my jamband/progressive rock influences, as a musician, my favourite show at the Ottawa Bluesfest was The Swell Season. I bailed on Rush against my instincts to see this show and I absolutely loved it. What great musicians, brilliant show!

I'm listening to their stuff right now and I am awed at the beauty...

FB

out of ALL the shows at bluesfest, the Swell Season was your favourite, or just that day? All I've heard about that show was the terrible timing for the show thanks to sound bleeding from the other stages. There were some amazing performances throughout bluesfest and the swell season day was 1 of 3 I didn't make it out for. If I had, I'm sure I would have been at their stage too.

If that's all you've seen of the Swell Season, I hope you take the opportunity to see them in a theatre.

Yup, catch them while you can. I caught them for the third time recently. At the Queen Elizabeth Theatre show in Toronto it was always a joy to watch them on stage and see their great songs performed in a relatively intimate setting. For me, after the three shows now, I am ready to see Glenn perform with his band The Frames and get away from the Swell Season stuff. I thought a lot of the `magic` between Glenn and Marketa has fizzled and just doesn`t resonate in the same way as before.

Do see the film Once as Jaimoe mentioned. Such a great movie and music. Nothing like that scene in the recording studio when they are recording and the band kicks in ... mmmmmgood.

Haha yes I have seen the film.

Friends mom knew they were coming to Bfest -> knew I was big music and film fan -> recommended and lent me Once -> I saw it loved it -> I bailed on Rush to see them...