Jump to content

Rush to receive GG award


Recommended Posts

Rush may be perennially overlooked by the U.S. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but the band is getting an award for lifetime achievement at home.

The rock power trio has won a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award. The band members are among the laureates announced Tuesday in Calgary.

The other winners are:

Janina Fialkowska, a classical concert pianist with a 35-year career as an international star.

Paul-André Fortier, a dancer and choreographer who has created 49 original works, including Loin, très loin for dancer Peggy Baker and Cabane for his own company Fortier-Danse-Création.

Denis Marleau, a Quebec theatre director, stage designer and artistic director who is regularly featured at Montreal’s Festival TransAmériques and at festivals around the world, including the Avignon Festival.

Deepa Mehta, the film director and screenwriter who created Oscar-nominee Water and is to release Midnight’s Children later this year.

Mary Walsh, the Newfoundland-born writer and comedian, who starred in CBC’s This Hour Has 22 Minutes and is soon to give a solo show in Toronto.

Each laureate receives a cash award of $25,000 from the Canada Council for the Arts and a commemorative medallion struck by the Royal Canadian Mint.

Walsh is famous for her “Warrior Princess†character, who ambushes politicians and public figures for a frank talk, among them new RCMP Commissioner Bob Paulson and Toronto Mayor Rob Ford, who famously called 911 when she turned up outside his house last year.

Rush, made up of Alex Lifeson, Neil Peart and Geddy Lee, is one of rock’s most influential bands with remarkable longevity and a track record that includes selling more than 40 million albums since 1974.

There’s been an ongoing campaign by Rush fans to have them inducted into the Cleveland-based Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. But each year when the nominees are announced, the Canadian trio known for hits such as Closer to the Heart and Fly by Night, is overlooked. The three have been members of the Canadian Music Hall of Fame since 1994.

Two more awards were announced in Calgary on Tuesday:

Earlaine Collins, a supporter of the performing arts for 45 years, won the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts. She has donated time, talent and capital to organizations such as the Canadian Opera Company (COC), the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and the Calgary Philharmonic.

Des McAnuff, Stratford Shakespeare Festival’s artistic director and a Tony winner for his production of Jersey Boys, won the National Arts Centre Award, presented for exceptional achievement over the past year. McAnuff helmed the acclaimed Stratford production of Jesus Christ Superstar that went on to San Diego and New York.

The 2012 laureates will be honoured at various events in Ottawa from May 3 to 5. On May 3, the recipients will be introduced in the House of Commons, and will then attend a Parliamentary reception. On May 4, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will present the Awards at a special ceremony and reception at Rideau Hall. On May 5, the National Arts Centre will host a sparkling Gala to celebrate the 2012 recipients, a star-studded celebration featuring superb performances, evocative film portraits, and personal tributes by guest stars.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...