Jambands.ca

Our turn Keys Players

Phred

Okay, the guitar player thread gave me an idea...

Any keyboard players out there? I know there are a few... What gear do you use?

[*]Kurweil Me1 - for all my Clav, Piano, EP, etc

[*]Roland A33 - a 76 key semi-weighted controller for my Me1

[*]Roland VK7 - a digital organ clone complete with drawbars... I love this thing, once you figure out how to use the drawbars, you get some good sounds out of it *

[*]Some boss expression pedal

[*]Some amplifier

* I am still a newbie when it comes to drawbars, although I have come a long way by reading a lot. If anyone out there has any favrouite drawbar settings, I would love to try them...

Phred

Shit, I've got some vintage thing but I can't remember what it is. I guess it was really the shit about 15 years ago. It's got two dead keys which don't ultimately matter because I only know about 6 chords and they either don't use those keys or I don't play them in that octave.

I do like keyboards though. Piano's even more so. Check this out. I was looking around on eBastard for an antique piano and I came across this:

-

Looks nice eh? The description read like this:

Magnificently carved Bechstein Grand piano 6'6"approaching its l00th anniversary. Excellent working condition and sound. Beautiful addition to any grand home. Bechstein pianos were made in Germany and date back to the l850's. Bechstein pianos were played by LISZT, CHOPIN, BRAHMS, STRAUSS, to name a few. Jazz players that played on Bechsteins are: Dave Brubeck, Chick Corea, Leonard Bernstein and Duke Ellington. Here are some famous quotes: Han von Bulow: "Bechstein is for pianists what Stradivarius are for violinists". Franz Liszt: "I have now played your instruments for 28 years and you have maintained your supremacy." "The Rolls Royce among pianos". "Hand-crafted, solid workmanship". This Rococo style masterpiece with elaborately carved legs, will prove to be a fabulous investment that can be enjoyed daily.