Jambands.ca

Question of the Day 10-27-02

AD

So I'm new to this question thing, and please excuse the fact that I posted this a day early, but it's been a long weekend and I'm going to bed...

Now for the question:

When was the moment that you knew Phish / Dead / others were the band for you? What were you doing? How did you know?

I'll get the ball rolling on this one...

I had heard plenty of Phish shows through tape-trading. My phirst B+P was for 8-20-93 Red Rocks and 3-13-92 Rhode Island. Both kick-ass shows that I still count as some of my favourites. But, as soon as I got the FMs of the Went, day two, set two, the DwD-->Gin I just knew that they were it . This is still my favourite half-hour plus of music. The Gin Jam is just incredible, with the whole band showing so much patience and timing until all the pieces were in place so they could blow the roof off that stage in the middle of nowhere.

So let's hear your stories now...

ad

Good question Alan!!

For me, with the Dead.. it was the minute i walked into the building 3.22.90 and saw all the beautiful people spinning and dancing in the halls... we arrived just after the first song started and i was in awe of what was going on around me all night.. talk about culture shock... the Scarlet>Fire from this show kinda put me over the edge and i was completely sober...

As for Phish , I was trading for shows in 94 wonering what was with all the Phish stickers in the Dead lots... i believ my phirst tapes were 12.31.92 which i still love to this day and would love a soundboard copy on cd if anyone has it... i got completely "Hooked" at my phirst show the minute they blew my mind with a killer Split Open... what moments that 12.7.95 Niagara Falls show has for me... openning with old home place to the unbelieveably Mikes

Have you ever seen Clockwork Orange?