Jambands.ca

HDMI troubleshooting help

bouche

I recently picked up a Harman Kardon AVR 146 receiver and finally got the hdmi cables I needed to hook up my dvd player. Unfortunately, it doesn't process the HDMI signal, so I still need to connect up the digital audio separately. I'm not sure if the extra $200 is worth having true source switching. (any thoughts jaimoe? I still have the receipt!)

Anyway, I hooked the dvd up with the HDMI and I put in Battlestar Galatica. It worked! I was so happy because the last 2 weeks, I had been swapping component cables between dvd and digital cable.

However, when I went back to the dvd later, I was getting a flashing blue screen. So I tried the other HDMI cable and I'm getting the same thing.

What the hell is wrong with this picture? How do I troubleshoot this? Can an HDMI cable be incompatible? I'm really new to source switching and HDMI.

huh? how?

I just troubleshooted by plugging the hdmi into the digital cable pvr box and that works fine. so now I'm back on component with the dvd player. If I could get both working on hdmi, I wouldn't have to switch sources on the tv. Now I'm wondering, 'what is the point' unless I have a true HDMI processor.

someone has got to help me make up my mind on this receiver. I've got only a few days to decide to return it and get the other one. However, I don't understand the models.

IS the AVR 245 the next level of the same generation?

Maybe people would be more helpful, if the person asking for help hadn't refeard to me as a troll ,and went out of there way to insult me I'd be more then wiling to help. You never know when your going to need to ask someone for help.

pretty much, it cost me about $200 worht of HDMI and $300 of monster cables to figure out the problum, I was really throwning me off that it would work some times, then the next day not at all. I even tried calling Harman's tech support, and having hatatchi come out to my house before I relised how simple the problum was.