Jambands.ca

How many Sanctuarians are musicians?

bradm

Just as a kind of survey/discussion thing, how many people here on the Sanctuary are musicians? If you are, what do you play, how long have you been playing, what are your major influences and ambitions, are you gigging/jamming (or if not, are you looking for people), are there any samples of your stuff available, etc.?

To start things off, I've been playing guitar for about 15 years. Mostly electric rhythm and lead, in the style of (but not nearly as good as) Jeff Beck, Zappa, etc. Ultimately, I'd like to get into a jamband situation (a la Phish or the Dead); I'm jamming with some people (every other week) and it's great, except they're not into gigging. A sample of my playing can be found at

http://www.geocities.com/bradmcmail/BradMc.html

(click on the link beside the word "Tune"; it's a 5 Mb 5 minute MP3 I whipped up using a Boss DR-5 for a bass/drum backing with one rhythm and two lead guitars on top of it; as a kind of one-chord-vamp riff-o-rama it was fun to do).

Take it away, guys.

Aloha,

Brad

Hello.

I play bass and I have since about 94 but most of those years i don't count because i was partying in my small town where there wasn't enough musical talent and openmindedness to fill a thimble except for a few select people.

i don't learn songs - i jam to albums.

I like to play with people.

currently, I'm taking Music Industry Arts at Fanshawe College in London Ontario. Soon you'll be able to hear stuff i'm working on...well maybe not soon but eventually.

ask giggles to hear some of the stuff i helped him on if you want an example of stuff we did that could be expanded on about fifty-fold.

watch out for that giggles character...he'll knock you on your ass with his 'c'est huit' sound.

oh yeah - I've been into musical ideas...fusing thoughts but not in a totally free way...applying dubstyle to jazz and jambands as well as reggae and psychadelic rock.