Jambands.ca

Teachers in here, plz read!!

SolarGarlic

Hey friends.

Im considering going back to school to become a teacher, so I can be in school forever (gaaassp!!). I would like to know a few things from those that are already doing it:

What grade do you teach? What grade would you prefer to teach?

W/C subject(s)?

How long have you been at it?

Positives about being the teach? Negs?

How does it mix with your "heady" lifestyle?

Regrets?

And anything else you want to add.

I figure that I can get a better feel for this topic from folks that seem to share similar ideals/hobbies/etc.

Hey.

I've been teaching for three years now. I spent two years teaching high school, all different grades (10, 11, 12). I would take Grade 12 advanced level courses if I had any say in the matter at all, which I don't, so I'm likely to end up teaching Grades 9 and 10 until my seniority gives me some upper level classes. I'm supposed to teach History and English, but the reality is that you teach whatever they give you, which means that I have also taught Media Studies (awesome!), Civics, Anthropology, and a little Geography.

I am currently teaching English to adults in Seoul, Korea.

Positives: holidays are good; some kids are great, and some aren't bad; the occasional warm feeling when some kid that you worked hard with achieves something; the kids that say, "Thanks," and mean it.

Negatives: students; politicians; argumentative or uncooperative parents; workload (too many jobs being taken away from secretaries/ teacher assistants/ librarians and given to teachers); students; the way half of the public hates you; low pay for the first 5-8 years; students.

Have I mentioned students? You'll love about 20% of them; you'll hate about 60% of them; the last 20% you'll have no opinion on, because they'll make themselves indistinguishable from the desk, or they won't come in, or they'll just be so unremarkable - good or bad - that you won't notice them.