Jambands.ca

Legal question.

Velvet

haha - just had this discussion over the weekend at a wedding. Short answer: No.

Of course this doesn't apply to anyone who willfully breaks something.

I found it it's called "The Pottery Barn Rule" too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pottery_Barn_rule

A quick search found an article about that very question.

http://legallad.quickanddirtytips.com/you-break-it-you-buy-it-law.aspx

Then again, I'm no contract lawyer, so perhaps I'm entirely wrong.

It seems to me people are under a duty not to do harm or cause damage/loss to others. If someone's action or omission causes such a loss by damaging another's property, subject to some statutory exclusion or other liability defence, it seems to me that such a person would then be liable to make that other person "whole", by compensating for the loss/damage.

The argument, presumably, would then be the replacement value of the property destroyed, but I would think liability would be pretty clear. I also suspect that the offering-price for the brand new object, i.e. the one at the store where the damage was done, would be pretty good evidence of the replacement value; i.e. damages owing.

Edited by Guest

This is all pretty hypothetical, and I should say that I am not commenting on any known set of facts or how it would apply in any particular jurisdiction, so this is not to be relied upon for legal advice, but with that disclaimer:

The word "accident" is unusual at law. If you are saying that it was an "inevitable accident", then that is a defence. The most typical example of an "inevitable accident" is a car-accident due to black ice.