Jambands.ca

Steal away, the time is just right

Dr_Evil_Mouse

Here's the latest on plagiarism. I'm glad I'm an instructor on strike right now, or I'd be boiling.

Anti-cheating database banned at NS University

I'm sorry, but I don't give a rat's fucking ass about "undergraduate content rights." If someone wants to publish something and they can't do it without lifting fewer than eight words from someone else to do so, then they have a little more of life to fucking digest and move on from. Jesus, kids, step up to the fucking plate, already.

I was going to say more, but I hope to fuck that that's enough.

This is reason enough for me to think the database is a bad idea:

Students at several Canadian universities that use the service have objected to the practice, saying an American company is profiting by fostering an atmosphere of distrust at Canadian campuses.

They also don't like the fact that their own work becomes part of the database when it is submitted.

I wouldn't like this either. Unless of course the database company compensates students for their work, which I highly doubt they do.

(Note to self: Stop being so full of shit, dem! write that on your hand or something)

Ahem - qualifying comment (in the cold, sober light of day): You're right, Ollie, and that's why I've never used it, even when U of T and WLU not only had a license with the site, but we were instructed to put a line (threat, as it were) about it in the syllabus for our courses. I always went that far, but never further. I'll be the first to confess that it's an ad baculum sort of argument for students not to plagiarise, but it pretty much worked (it was either that, or the fact that the assignments I set were so idiosyncratic that you'd never be able to plagiarise them from anywhere).