Jump to content
Jambands.ca

Jay Funk Dawg

Members
  • Posts

    8,167
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    24

Everything posted by Jay Funk Dawg

  1. I was also a fan of Granelli's. I turned on to him when he released his Granelli "Music Has its Way With Me" and saw him play in Halifax in a trio where he played those metal sculptures with Skip Beckwith. He was a visionary. https://jerrygranelli.bandcamp.com/album/music-has-its-way-with-me
  2. Friday July 23rd, 2021 5th Annual Groovin' in the Parking Lot x Do Right Soul Revue Live performances from The Soul Motivators, Tush, Odario, The Luvmenauts with DJs Jason Palma, John Kong, DJ Quesquecest Guildwood Go Station - 4105 Kingston Rd., Toronto, ON M1E 2M3 Doors open: 6PM Showtime: 7PM Tickets via Eventbrite $40-60 per car Facebook: https://fb.me/e/2xSSq56HC FAQ: https://beachesjazz.com/about/faq/ Presented by NuFunk Concerts, the 5th Annual Groovin in the Park hits the OLG Main Stage once again. Join us for a night of soul, funk, disco and dance, all from the comfort of your own vehicle. Do Right Music is a Toronto-based independent record label and production company that specializes in funk, soul-jazz, and international sounds. Founded in 2002 by John Kong, the label has introduced some of Canada’s finest independent artists to global audiences. The Soul Motivators www.soulmotivators.com Canada’s premier funk outfit blend 70s funk, modern soul, psychedelic grooves, breakbeats to provide a fresh take on a classic sound. Since the release of their explosive 2015 full-length debut “Free to Believe”, The Soul Motivators have tirelessly toured to bring their high-octane live show to the masses. They continued to push the boundaries of funk on the acclaimed “Dirt On the Floor” EP and collaborations with Funk Night Records on 45 vinyl releases. In 2020, The Soul Motivators released their sophomore album “Do The Damn Thing” showcasing their new powerhouse frontwoman Shahi Teruko. The band is currently working on a new Do right release slated for fall 2021. Tush www.facebook.com/tushdisco Tush is a fast-rising electronic music act from Canada powered by Kamilah Apong and Jamie Kidd. Taking inspiration from electro-funk, early disco, and soulful 90s house, Tush forms a vibe all their own. More grit than glam, their sound embodies the rawness, vulnerability, and intimacy of the dancefloor. Apong and Kidd’s fruitful creative partnership began while covering rare groove disco live together in Toronto nightclubs. With the pandemic de-railing live shows for the year, Tush has pivoted to a more electronic sound that showcases their versatility - their debut album “Fantast” (out July 30) is equal parts house and nu-disco, giving the listener a taste of their heavy chops with a futuristic side of what’s to come. Watch the new video, ‘Chrysalis’: the first single on their forthcoming album. Odario www.facebook.com/odariomusic Odario is a storyteller, hip-hop junkie, and lover of musical soundscapes. Best known as the frontman for hip-hop outfit Grand Analog, his soulful hip-hop vibes, distinctive voice, and insightful lyrics have been featured on three albums and numerous singles, including tracks with Posdnuos of De La Soul, Mad Professor, and Shad. As the host of the popular CBC Music program Afterdark, which recently celebrated its third year, he spreads the indie soul flavour across the Canadian airwaves and beyond. He recently released his solo debut “Good Morning Hunter” - a highly original and eclectic 7-track EP that blends hip-hop, beat poetry, live instrumentation, and even a drum n’ bass dub. The Luvmenauts www.theluvmenauts.com Eclectic Toronto-based collective, The Luvmenauts, are dedicated to paying homage to the cinematic sounds of the past. The core band consists of Andrew Moljgun (keys), Josh Cavan (guitar), Alex Furlott (bass), and Jon Hyde (drums). together, they are on a mission to create soundtracks for films that never were. The Luvmenauts have self-released three full-length LPs, running the gamut from psychedelic surf to spaghetti western. In their latest outing, “Extravehicular Activity”, The Luvmenauts have created the score for an empyreal journey through an alternate universe. DJs: DJ John Kong’s selections for the dancefloor echo his work as a label boss with Toronto-based Do Right Music. His DJ sets are a genre-bending mix of jazz, funk, disco, house, and hip-hop - the only common denominator being one great groove after another. Considered one of Toronto’s most popular DJs, Jason Palma has pushed the groove via his weekly radio show ‘Higher Ground’ on CIUT. Beyond playing countless parties across the city, Palma has held a decades long monthly residency ‘Footprints.’ A concert promoter, musician, DJ, label owner, and avid music collector, DJ Quesquecest is French for “what is that?” and throwing down rare and exclusive big beats between sets at live events is his signature. Co-Founder of Brooklyn’s No Wahala DJs and Toronto's the Make it Funky Collective. Curated by www.nufunk.ca
  3. Nice man! I enjoyed the Les Paul story. You should consider getting a twitter handle to let people know there's a new post. hyperlink www.toddmanout.com
  4. Good points in this post I've thought it was a good idea to make it easier for his heirs, but I didn't take into account that the Biden Admin may raise capital gains and Dylan takes advantage of a lower tax rate. This is likely the peak time for him to sell.
  5. This Saturday, December 5th Make it Funky’s #FunkRaiders V.8! The best global funky bass, DnB & Breaks #Twitch livestream continues with a lineup that will have you dancing all day and night from wherever you are in the world. Join us in the chat as we take you from stream to stream welcoming special live performances by That 1 Guy from Las Vegas, DJ Lickweed from Australia, DJ Clairvo from Hungary, DJ Chad Fox from Puerto Rico! We can’t wait to debut UK DJs HongKongPingPong & Hiphoppapotamus and feature our famous residents Farbsie Funk, DJ Maculate, VJ Tanner, DJ Quesquecest, & Mista Twista! Come drop in to the party this weekend with The Make It Funky Collective! www.makeitfunky.ca VJ Tanner | 2PM EST | 11PM PST | 7PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djtanner98 DJ Quesquecest | 3PM EST | 12PM PST | 8PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/nufunkrecords HIPHOPAPOTAMUS | 4PM EST| 1PM PST | 9PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djhiphoppapotamus HongKongPingPong | 5PM EST| 2PM PST | 10PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/h0ngk0ngpingp0ng Clairvo | 6PM EST| 3PM PST | 11PM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/dj_clairvo Chad Fox | 7PM EST | 4PM PST | 12AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djchadfox Detta | 8PM EST | 5PM PST | 1AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djdetta_ That 1 Guy | 9PM EST | 6PM PST | 2AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/radio1guy Lickweed | 10PM EST | 7PM PST | 3AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/twistedaudio Farbsie Funk | 11PM EST | 8PM PST | 4AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/farbsie_funk DJ Maculate | 12AM EST | 9PM PST | 5AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/djmaculate Mista Twista | 1AM EST | 10PM PST | 6AM GMT https://www.twitch.tv/mistatwista Follow #FunkRaiders livestream as we jump across the United Kingdom, the United States, and Canada throughout the day, bringing you the best in funk, disco, house, breaks, bass and dnb. In these troubled times, we bring the funk straight to the comfort of your home. Grab a twitch.tv login for free so you can join us in the chat room and get in on the fun(k)!
  6. Nice Bouche, I'm on the JamKazam too... I've had some great and not so great jams on there. I'll find you on there!
  7. I enjoyed the Audible Brutality interview, nice to see you pushing the boundaries with your playing.
  8. With a vaccine on the horizon, Ticketmaster/LiveNation needs to get their business back on track and is probably looking to implement any type of system that can show that events are safe spaces... and I can see that all types of hospitality industries are going to implement similar systems. The future looks bright with the vaccine announcement by Pfizer and Moderna, but big brother will be watching us even closer.
  9. MIXTO FESTIVAL:INTERCULTURAL EXPRESSIONS FREEONLINE EDITION November 27-29, 2020 www.mixtofestival.com Imagined and produced by a collective of local artists and cultural presenters who have joined together to host a multi-day festival of music, food, and art. This year’s MIXTO Festival brings old school flavour to the internet! The weekend-long event highlights Toronto's “mixed” nature through regional and international programming. A three-day online festival bringing together diverse local music and bridging communities, cultures, and contemporary intercultural experiences with live performances, DJs, zoom parties, workshops, and discussion. All delivered online for free! Live-streamed from Toronto to the world via www.mixtofestival.com, and live to air on CIUT 89.5FM (Toronto). Live performances by: Witch Prophet Bruno Capinan Aline Morales, co-presented by Lulaworld Up North Reggae Jam w/ Steele, Tasha T Music, Eyesus + Alicia Cinnamon DJs: Bianca Maieli me time Sofia Fly Win Raf Reza DJ General Eclectic Higher Heights Selectors Workshops: FLY LADY DI Beny Es Guerra of New Tradition Music Derek Thorne Full line up and streaming details: www.mixtofestival.com
  10. Turn it up for Make It Funky’s #FunkRaiders v.6 the best global funky bass, DnB & Breaks livestream, tomorrow(Sat. Nov 7th)!This special installment includes 2x UK Beatbox Champion Beardyman, breakstep innovator Deekline, trailblazing production team @AllGoodFunkAlliance, emerging bass-heavy, funky house artist Rumpus soul brother TheGaff plus regulars Farbsie Funk, Maculate,DJ Aiden Scott,DJ Quesquecest, Mista Twista andDJ Tanner. 3PM to 3AM. more visit www.makeitfunky.ca SCHEDULE IN EST TIME 3PM | DJ Quesquecest | www.twitch.tv/nufunkrecords 4PM | VJ Tanner | www.twitch.tv/djtanner98 5PM | Aiden Scott | www.twitch.tv/djaidenscott 6PM | Beardyman | www.twitch.tv/beardymanananan 7PM | Deekline | www.twitch.tv/junglecakesdnb 8PM | AllGoodFunkAlliance | www.twitch.tv/allgoodfunkalliance 9PM | The Gaff | www.twitch.tv/thegafflive 10PM | Rumpus | www.twitch.tv/rumpusmusic 11:PM | Farbsie Funk | www.twitch.tv/farbsie_funk 12AM | Dj Maculate | www.twitch.tv/djmaculate 1:30AM | Mista Twista | www.twitch.tv/mistatwista
  11. BTW, Todd, i also enjoyed reading your post. Once thing I was surprised about Eddie's passing was the praise from Ozzy Osborne. Ozzie chose Randy Rhoads to join his band to emulate Eddie's playing and 2 hand tapping style. His guitar playing was responsible for reinventing Ozzy with hits like Crazy Train & Mr Crowley. Randy was planning on leaving the band to pursue other avenues and was asked to stay on for another tour. And on that tour Randy died in a plane crash. To me it seemed to be insensitive to Randy to dismiss Randy as a copy-cat. “That thing with finger-tapping in the 80s, with the hair bands, everybody was doing that finger tapping. Once you’ve seen the master do it, everyone else comes second. Anybody after Eddie Van Halen was in second, as far as I’m concerned.” https://www.nme.com/en_asia/news/music/ozzy-osbourne-pays-tribute-to-eddie-van-halen-2775671 Eddie Van Halen said in an interview in 1982 that 'Randy Rhoads Learned It All From Me' - this suggest to me there was rivalry between the guitarists.
  12. rare reggae-jazz album. ft. Eric Gayle and Peter Tosh
  13. As a kid, I had a Starways flyer route, delivering junk mail around the neighbourhood and I would take my meager earnings with me to Driftwood Music on Queen St. downtown Toronto, between Much Music and University Ave. Driftwood had a great selection of used tapes, all for $4-$6 dollars a piece. I didn't have any older brothers so I discovered classic rock primarily by taking leap of faith on purchases of tapes falling hard for Almans Brothers, Black Sabbath, Cream, Pink Floyd, The Doors, AC/DC Blind Faith, Led Zeppelin etc.. I remember grabbing Van Halen 1, 2 & Diver Down... but really getting drawn in by their debut... so many great songs. I remember getting into them again when Right Now came out, it was an entirely sound, but still great band. I caught them at The Molson Amp, Our Lady Peace, I think, opened. This is my favourite track:
  14. Philip Seymour Hoffman as CREEM editor Lester Bangs in the film "Almost Famous." The real Lester Bangs
  15. 2019 - USA - 75 MINUTES A FILM BY SCOTT CRAWFORD FEATURING: CAMERON CROWE, ALICE COOPER, KIRK HAMMETT, JOAN JETT, MICHAEL STIPE, GENE SIMMONS, PAUL STANLEY, CHAD SMITH, PETER WOLF, WAYNE KRAMER Distributed in Canada by WeLikeFilms in association with Hollywood Suite Rent the film for $9.99 starting on July 31st here; http://www.filmswelike.com/films/creem-americas-only-rock-n-roll-magazine Ripping back the curtain on legendary rock rag CREEM Magazine's wild and disruptive newsroom; a dysfunctional band of unruly outsiders who weren’t all that different from the artists they covered. Capturing the messy upheaval of the '70s just as rock was re-inventing itself, the film explores Creem Magazine's humble beginnings in post-riot Detroit, follows its upward trajectory from underground paper to national powerhouse, then bears witness to its imminent demise following the tragic and untimely deaths of its visionary publisher, Barry Kramer, and its most famous alum and genius clown prince, Lester Bangs, a year later. Fifty years after publishing its first issue, "America's Only Rock 'n' Roll Magazine" remains a seditious spirit in music and culture.
  16. White Riot White Riot is a moment in time when music changed the world. When a generation challenged the status quo. It’s Woodstock meets the March on Washington, punk-style. New Release 😧 Rubika Shah | 80 min | 2019 | UK | RATING: PG VIRTUAL CINEMA SCREENINGSVirtual Cinema Screenings start July 9th. Cost to rent = $9.99 (includes tax). Rent it via Hot Docs Cinema: https://boxoffice.hotdocs.ca/websales/pages/info.aspx?evtinfo=127738~fff311b7-cdad-4e14-9ae4-a9905e1b9cb0&epguid=8533b035-0c76-4133-bf01-9b9878c87b37& Britain, late-1970s. Punk is exploding. The country is deeply divided over immigration. The National Front, a far-right and fascist political party, is gaining strength as politicians like Enoch Powell push a xenophobic agenda. Outraged by a racist speech from Eric Clapton, music photographer Red Saunders writes a letter to the music press, calling for rock to be a force against racism. NME, Melody Maker, and Sounds all publish the letter. Flooded with responses, Red discovers many share his views. Teaming up with like-minded creatives Roger Huddle, Kate Webb, Syd Shelton and Australian graphic designer Ruth Gregory, the team bands together to create Rock Against Racism (RAR) and a fanzine, Temporary Hoarding. Speaking directly to the youth, Temporary Hoarding reports stories and issues that the mainstream British media ignores, like immigration, the Catholic side of the Northern Ireland conflict, and the police’s controversial “suspected persons” (sus) powers. They give a voice to the voiceless. The National Front begins to strike back, committing acts of violence against RAR supporters and petrol-bombing their HQ. Despite this, RAR spreads virally across the UK and into Europe, becoming a grassroots youth movement. The Clash, Steel Pulse, Tom Robinson and other top bands of the day jump on board.
  17. Do Right Music in association with Nufunk.ca are excited to announce that The Soul Motivators will be hosting a watch party here on Saturday, May 9th at 9pm ET (6pm PT), premiering their ‘Do The Damn Thing’ album release concert video in full. The concert was recorded at Lee's Palace in Toronto on February 28, 2020. We hope you’ll enjoy some great live footage from this 9-piece explosion who are at the top of their game! Set the reminder and watch the full concert stream via: The Soul Motivators page or YouTube https://youtu.be/iwVW8YwlzNY The Soul Motivators are a 9-piece, 3 horn deep funk explosion, with a rough, tough, and soulful flair that motivates people straight to the dance floor. With a brand new LP out now on Do RIght Music getting support from BBC Radio's Craig Charles Funk Show, Exclaim! Magazine, CBC Radio, SportsNet Hockey and more!Listen to the new album now!
  18. Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad with special guest Street Pharmacy and ReggaddictionThursday, May 21st, 2020Lee's Palace - 529 Bloor St. West, Toronto, ONTime: Doors 8pm | Show: 9pmTickets: $30 Online Tickets: http://bit.ly/PandaTO Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/556985638494014/ NEW YORK REGGAE HEAVYWEIGHTS GIANT PANDA GUERILLA DUB SQUAD ARE COMING TO TORONTO The Billboard chart topping “Grateful Dead of reggae” will perform at Lee’s Palace on Thursday, May 21, with Ontario bands Street Pharmacy and Reggaddiction to open the show. Giant Panda Guerilla Dub Squad (GPGDS) formed in 2001 in Rochester, New York. A mysteriously fertile area for developing the U.S. reggae scene, the city has ties going back to 1981 when Lee “Scratch” Perry recruited his entire backing band from Rochester. The Upstate NY region became early supporters of GPGDS, while its members were in high school, playing weekly gigs to cut their teeth. In these formative years, Giant Panda began to explore their songs with an experimental approach, mixing in layers of afro-beat, R&B and americana, while keeping their roots firmly planted in reggae rhythms and lyrical content. Around 2005 tapers began to notice and soon after one of the band’s first Colorado shows received homepage placement on the popular taper website Archive.org. Almost overnight GPGDS became a mainstay on the jamband festival circuit. After five years of synthesizing their sound on the road, GPGDS released their first studio album Slow Down (2006) proving their abilities as songwriters and setting the stage for a string of eclectic releases, topping the Billboard Reggae chart twice along the way with Steady (2014 Easy Star Records) and Make It Better (2016 Rootfire Cooperative). In 2019 the band released two singles, “Stop Fighting” and “Cool It,” followed by their first release of 2020 “Good Love.” Now two decades into their careers Giant Panda has become an institution, widely regarded as “the Grateful Dead of reggae” and continuing to grow with the world around them. See them perform at Lee’s Palace in Toronto on Thursday, May 21, with Ontario bands Street Pharmacy and Reggaddiction opening the show.
×
×
  • Create New...