Jambands.ca

The great pacific garbage patch. (Twice the size of Texas!)

The Chameleon

we should take all the garbage on the planet and compress as small as possible, load it onto the space shuttle and send it hurtling off into oblivion.

it'd make more sense than experiments to see how ants behave in zero gravity. although i suppose the experiment could be lablled "How garbage, rats and other gross shit is affected by zero gravity".

Why are there no satellite pictures of the mass?

there are pictures of the oceans, but they're not updated regularly and they're not all that accurate or informative (in my experience - i'm no expert in oceanography or anything though)

i can't answer definitively, but most commercial imaging satellites do not take pictures of ocean as there is no way to locate the image, and most of the time it's just, well, water - there is no commercial reason to take pictures of water. imagine you're standing on a beach. you take a picture straight down at the sand. now try to place that image correctly on the whole beach.

i bet NOAA has some satellites that are looking into this kind of thing, but if there are no commercial images, my answer above is logical. (i have no knowledge of this case though)

The wikepedia link refutes your thread title BTW.

Texas = 678 000 km2

North Pacific Gyre = 34 000 000 km2

So if the North Pacific Gyre (a natural phenomena) is the complete "Pacific Garbage Patch" it is 50 times the size of Texas. edit - see below - garbage patch isn't the whole Gyre.

Some sources [san Fran Chronicle] have incorrectly reported that there is a "floating continent" of debris that is roughly twice the size of Texas, however no scientific investigation, including Moore's, has verified this.

So I guess that means the garbage patch isn't the whole area. Anyways, I'll leave the figures above to provide scale.

Edited by Guest
factamatrons