Jambands.ca

Skiing/snowboarding

Velvet

As part of my Coming Alive In 2005 theme I have decided that it's high time I tried skiing and/or snowboarding. So, I've checked into Camp Fortune and I wanna go. This is an open call for anybody who'd like to join me.

I think I'd like to try a half day. It's cheaper at night and on weekdays. I could go during the day on a Thursday or Friday, or I could do any night except Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.

As mentioned, I have no experience. The website says they have beginner packages on Saturday and Sunday which include a two-hour lesson and equipment rental. Unless one of you experienced folks is willing to show me the ropes I think this is the way for me to go.

So, anybody else interested?

http://www.campfortune.com/cgi-bin/snapshot.cgi?view=snapshot〈=en

Velvet:

It's been too long since you've come to visit me! If you wanna learn to snowboard, I think this may be the place to do it.

The Mountain is usually open until June, so there is no huge rush to get here, and String Cheese is playing a FREE show in Whistler on April 9 (although I know the Skanc is down on SCI these days). A member of SCI is also playing a show that night in Whistler with his band "Zilla".

Just a thought...

Woo hoo! It's been snowing at Horseshoe all day and I'm heading out tonight.

Velvet, I'd strongly recommend a lesson. You sure can hurt yourself boarding if you catch an edge (I believe StoneMtn can also attest to this). Whiplash is no fun! Also, if you are going to be sticking to the smaller hills, it's worth calling ahead of time to see how many school trips the hill has booked. There's nothing worse than flying down the hill at Mach 1 with absolutely no control and oodles of third graders acting as pilons. :(

You'll feel much more comfortable the fewer little ones are on the hill. They don't give a sh!t where they're going. I guess because it takes more to hurt them than it does my old bones. Have fun!