Jambands.ca

Robert Latimer

Dr. J

I've never written my member of Parliament before, but I have now.

The current miscarriage of justice being carried out by the National Parole Board in the case of Robert Latimer I find to be ridiculous. Whether one agrees or disagrees with what he did, this man is not a menace to society and having him remain in prison serves no useful purpose.

His lack of remorse says volumes about his character (his sister says he will not lie to get out), but absolutely nothing about the possibilty of him repeating his action.

This attempt to hold him down until he says "Uncle" is childish bullying at it's worst. it serves no one well, not Latimer, not society, not the disabled.

Like I said, I've never written my MP before but I did on this one.

Maybe this should have been in the Politics Forum?

Is there a Pissed Off forum?

I remember following this case fairly closely over the years as it made its way through the court system (both the initial verdict and then the sentencing appeal).

I've discussed this case with many students in high school law classes over the years, and the vast majority of them think that what he did was wrong, but that the sentence was far too severe for what he did. Most adults that I've talked with about this case over the years feel the same way. Therefore, I was shocked when I heard on the radio that he was denied day parole. Enough already!

Peace, Mark

I, too, was appalled when I heard he was denied "day parole" (though I don't fully understand what that means). Right or wrong, he's paid his (in my opinion) questionable "debt" to society.

I'm not condoning what he did..I can't even figure out how I truly feel about it..it's a difficult question and a slippery moral & legal slope..