Jambands.ca

Death Metal/ Speed Metal/ Grindcore etc.

zero

So does anyone actually listen to this shit? Thanks to the boys at my work I get to listen to ALOT of it. Bands like Killswitch Engage and Cryptopsy (from Quebec) seem to be particularly popular. It's pretty hard for even a lover of challenging music to get into this shit I'll say that. I'll take some avant wank fest any day. But I want to understand it better, what makes one band good and another not, what is craftsmanship, what is good lead guitar, bass, drums (certainly alot of double kick and floor tom stuff that makes Rodney Holmes look like a fairy). So anyone out there got any recommendations so I can look knowledgeable to the boys at work or any insight into any of this. Hell I'd love to understand the difference between the genres.

I'm no expert either but here goes it from my perspective...

Death metal seems to be separated from the others by more variety of range on pace and clarity and deep, growling, unintelligeable vocals about blood, vomit, death, y'know? The good stuff. Can be strangely melodic.

Think Sepultura.

Grindcore = lots of distortion on everything and lots of "non-harmonic" yelling. Tons of time signature changes, very strange beat counting. Hard to follow because of a lack of clear separation between sounds and unresolved bar structures and melodies.

Speed metal is separated by the fast paced clarity of the sounds, especially the drums. The more double-kick the better. Hard to play because of sheer dexterity and timing between band members.

The only death metal/grindcore recommendations I could give you would make you look old. I used to kick it to bands Carcass, Entombed and Obituary back in the day. I can't speak to anything being made today but, yeah, I really liked that stuff and used to be able to pick out the wheat from the chaff.

Thanks for the info keep it coming. I'd love to hear Andrew Barr rock the blast beats.