Jambands.ca

Dub Side of the Moon

thatpatguy

Has anyone heard this record yet?

It's a dub/reggae cover of Dark Side of the Moon.. and believe it or not, it's really good.

It's done by a bunch of guys calling themselves The Easy Star All-Stars. Here is the write up on allmusic.com:

http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&token=ADFEAEE4781CDD49AF7220D4932B64DDBC72E619DF57FD9B076E495AD1A9654C983C5DD377FA95CCB0E577B666ADFF2EA1160ED3C0EE5FF6DE622D4CF0&sql=10:hr67mpnk9f2o

Anyway.. if you are into dub I suggest you try and find a copy, it's super mellow and trippy, the way good dub should be.

f73259intu6.jpg

Yeah man, I've been loving it for a couple years now too. I think I read that Easy-Star is a Reggae label in NYC, and the people appearing on the album are all kinds of folks on their roster, hence the moniker. I think it's a great dub record and more than a party trick, but if I had been producing I would have done a few of the tracks a little differently, particularly the beginning of Brain Damage. I love the patois toast in place of the Money guitar solo, there a lot of other cool dubwise on the album.

ok ok.. so I was a bit late on picking this album up.. :)

but still.. good album.. and hopefully there was someone who read this thread that didn't know it existed and will go pick it up..

TheGoodRev.. here is some info on the Easy Star All-Stars, courtesy of allmusic.com