Jambands.ca

Question of the Day 10-23-02

Ms.Huxtable

I play guitar. The first song I think I learned was probably "Communication Breakdown" by Led Zeppelin, because it was pretty easy (I play it in barre chord form, and that D-A-D change was pretty easy), and I love Zeppelin's music.

A little while after that, I got a book called "Improvising Rock Guitar", which had transcriptions of "Day Tripper" and "Sunshine Of Your Love". I started learning them, and after a little practice, my brother came storming into my room, proclaiming, "I recognize that!" At that point, I knew the guitar was for me (or I was for the guitar...).

Aloha,

Brad

I typically drink beer, Sleaman's Cream Ale to be precise. The first beers I drank were Molson Golden (I also smoked for the first time). I choose that beer, because my friends bought it. I guess it was easy, I sure was after 3 of them. The only challenge was not getting caught those days, but I did more often than not. Do I love it? HELL YEAH! It is so refreshing, and it makes me love everyone I am with, unless I dont love them. [Razz]

When I first got my Chapman Stick for Christmas, at age 5, I picked it up and just started playing "Unbroken Chain", primarily due to it's very basic chord structure, and the fact that I just didn't want to learn House of the Rising Sun.... [Wink]

I play acoustic guitar. When I was in Grade 6 I got an electric guitar and proceeded to indulge in maniacal feedback sessions designed to irritate my parents and neighbours. Unfortunately, I learned precious little about music or the guitar, just how to set it down on an amplifier for ten minutes and see what happens [Eek!] . But somehere in there, I learned "Interstellar Overdrive" by Pink Floyd. I remember playing it for a captive audience of shocked Grades 1-8 in my friends' school gym. He played bass. It was awful. The principal invited me to never come back.