Jambands.ca

Personal Question

Douglas

The funeral (for my client who passed away on the weekend) is tomorrow at 11. I want to go, but I'm...well...sorta terrified. I'm not good at funerals (who is, right?) and I might feel sorta outta place. I know lots of people at work are going, but none of my actual co-workers.

So I guess I'm just kinda nervous about sitting alone...or with clients...and crying. Even sniffling scares me.

One thing I do know is that I'll regret it if I don't go...even (just - and I use that term lightly) to show my respects.

I'm at a loss and don't know what to do tomorrow. Has anyone been in a situation like this before? Where they feel connected to that person, but uncomfortable (for lack of a better word) about making a decision.

I figure what I'll do is bring the necessary attire and decide in the morning. But I've never gone to a funeral alone before, and I don't want to lean on other clients in fear of making the work-relationship toooooo personal. I just don't know.

Any advice is sincerly appreciated.

cheers.

Lynn

Sounds to me like you gotta go. The discomfort/nervousness you feel will be a temporary thing, but the feelings of regret you could have for not going will probably last alot longer. My advice would be to try and find a seat somewhere near the back. Who knows- you may find someone else there experiencing similar thoughts/feelings as you do and your presence there could have a comforting effect on them. I know it seems hard, but I just get the feeling that you feel you need to be there and will really regret missing it.You have lots of friends who are thinking of you and sending lots of hugs and good vibes your way. Draw the strength you need from that.

Don't be afraid of being on your own. You came into this world alone, and that's the same way you'll leave it. Besides, it might be better for you to be alone with your thoughts, than have to listen to someone you barely know blabber on.