Jambands.ca

Are you cubed skank?

Deeps

Hello,

I work as a computer guy in a large company and have as of recent been insanely bored with all that is my station in this huge machine.

Just wondering if I have any friends out there who feel the pain of excessive individual work, slow corporate momentum, reality show conversation being the only occasional buzz, carpal tunnel, mediocre carpeting ohhhh and benefits and paid vacation.

Wondering who out there is in a cubicle style setting and what they do when they feel like this....or if they feel like this at all.

Deeps

PS I am registering for courses to get a 2nd degree in Psych today so that one day I have a job that makes a difference and pays the bills.

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I work in a cubicle, and actually like my work a lot. I'm a programmer, and my work is in that grey/boundary area between art and technology: I have to be creative (to come up with solutions to problems), but my creativity is bound by the limits of the technology I have to work with. And since I'm a details junkie, that's right up my alley.

Further, I'm in a research/innovation group, as opposed to a product group, so the pressure due to deadlines and competition isn't nearly as great.

It also pays well, and gives me good 'net access.

Aloha,

Brad

Guest Low Roller

I escaped last September. I then moved to Paris for a couple of months, and then finally settled down by the sea in England. In those four months I have been to Manhattan, Paris, Tours, London, Montreal, Brighton, and Brussels. I lost about 15 lbs of fat accumulated by eating unhealthy lunches combined with no regular exercise and a toxin-filled lifestyle. I am able to wake-up with a smile on my face and maintain it all day as I mingle with the good people I meet.

But I like the money so I'm going back into the box. ;)