Jambands.ca

west coast bound

bagochips

Hi there, all. This is my first time initiating a topic on this site. I signed up here 3 or 4 years ago but just never post. My friend Jay Snell and I are leaving Ottawa on Wednesday for a cross-Canada camping trip to BC, probably ending in Tofino. We are driving the whole way.

Those of you in Ottawa, and elsewhere, who know Jay will probably know by now that he was diagnosed with ALS during the winter. This will be his first and most likely only trip to the west coast.

So I am asking for suggestions and advice on cool places to camp, sights to see, and bands/festivals to catch along the way.

Any and all thoughts would be more than welcome. Jay is a great guy, facing a very scary future, so anything I can do to make this trip special for him, well, I will do it.

Thanks guys. Gord.

I've only done the trip once and it was in a pretty straight-through fasion so I can't say I have much advice to give off the top of the head. All I can say is, if I did it again I would stop more. Get off the beaten path as much as possible as that's usually where the gems are hidden. Other than that, you're a smart, fun-loving guy, I'm sure you'll make the best of it. And there were also some good tips on that other, "driving across Canada" thread. See you soon buddy.

uh - hello? JAMBANDS.CA?

where's the love for bonfire?

BONFIRE MUSIC FESTIVAL 2006

4 magical days & nights of music, camping & celebration!

August 17~18~19~20

Spirit of the Rainforest Amphitheatre

Ruby Lake - Sunshine Coast, BC

with performances by

Five Alarm Funk

Freeflow

Slammin Jack

Themasses

Todd Taylor & Friends

Motion Soundtrack

The Bottle & The Truth

Roots Roundup

Stephen Franke & Noises from the Toolshed

The Grames Brothers

Mother

Inject

Doppler Defect

Jackfruit

Space 9

The Tuques

Kaejema

All Purpose

Baked Potato

Blue Island Trio

Don Alder

& Ty West

Performance & workshops with Mythmaker

Visuals by Honeybee Visuals