Jambands.ca

First Songs You Ever Learned on Guitar?

Dr_Evil_Mouse

I'm cobbling together a curriculum for guitar lessons for wee ones in the area via our local community centre, and am scratching my head trying to think of a) what the first songs were that I ever learned, and B) whether those have any bearing on what pre-teens listen to (or have ever listened to, come to think about it). I think I've now got some good ideas nailed down, but am curious about where other people got started.

My first guitar book, at 8 years old, was The Standard Guitar Method. I remember learning a bunch of scales and the folk song "Tom Dooley", among others. Here's the only pic I could find, but I only ever used the first two volumes:

HL-50393990.GIF

From there, I started learning the chords and melody lines to various oldies; "When I'm 64" and Elvis' "Good Luck Charm" were among the first. Johnny B. Goode, Peggy Sue and Surfin Safari were also in there. After that, I vividly remember learning the 12-bar blues structure, learning about tonic and dominant 7th, etc. That was a huge thing to learn, and it still helps me today. I only took lessons until I was 12, and after that it was all self-teaching.

Seriously though, if you're looking to do it without a book, start with the Beatles. Hopefully anybody with even a mild interest in playing the guitar has an appreciation for the Beatles. I'd recommend getting your students to buy little dictation books though, and bringing a box of golf pencils to each class, so they can remember stuff. Because we all know that the secret to good guitar playing is practice. I was always the kid showing up for lessons not having practiced, and the teacher always knows. Half the time he'd make me sit there and do my practicing in the lesson, because you can't progress if you haven't practiced.